Could Jesus Have Been Vegan?

I consider myself to be holistic and rely on homeopathic remedies when possible-using turmeric, herbs and raw organic honey as medicine, wanting to invest in coconut charcoal as a detoxifying agent, striving to buy organic products, aiming to be as chemical free as possible (beauty and hygiene products) and growing our own food. These are just a few examples, I’m sure my husband could list many more.

I went down a rabbit hole watching Netflix today and watched “Sustainable” and “Cowspiracy”. “Sustainable” was wonderful and really gives individual motivation to return to farm-to-table eating and abandoning the corporate food machine that is keeping people fat, sick and stupid. I highly recommend it.

“Cowspiracy” is a bit more extreme and exposes the mega farm industry and its disastrous effects on health, the environment and animals-the domesticated ones and the wild ones. The ending message was that veganism is the only ethical and sustainable way of life.

I then found myself at a crossroads. While I agree with most of the “Cowspiracy” message (especially Michael Pollans advice), I am also a devout Christian. A vegan lifestyle is very appealing to me in all areas except two. The first being I am a die hard honey advocate (as food and medicine) and plan to start beekeeping within the next few years. There is no harm to the bees and it is a beneficial symbiotic relationship when done with good stewardship (for more on this see Ron Miksha’s Bad Beekeeping Blog article on Why Vegans Are Wrong. I also recommend reading Maple Syrup is Dark).

Second, The Bible explicitly condems veganism in 1Timothy 4:1-5. Paul is instructing Timothy as to what will happen in the latter times:

“Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils;2 Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron;3 Forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which believe and know the truth. 4 For every creature of God is good, and nothing to be refused, if it be received with thanksgiving: 5 For it is sanctified by the word of God and prayer.

Also in Acts 10:13, God COMMANDS Peter to “Rise, Peter; kill, and eat” all types of animals he saw around him. At first Peter was hesitant but God commanded it.

I believe we must be responsible while having dominion over the earth and its creatures. I come from a background in biology and ecology specifically. Before I was saved I considered myself an environmentalist. After The Lord saved me, I learned to not worship the creation (the earth and ecosystems and animal well being) but The Creator.

Having dominion and subduing the earth was the commandment given to the first humans, Adam and Eve (Genesis 1:28). Industrialization has demolished the responsibility of man in this matter. Industrialization and genetic modification of food are the culprits for the woes we are faced with today.

This subject is controversial. I am not telling any of you what you should or should not do. You will come to those truths as they are revealed to you. As for me and my house, we will not be vegan, but we will aim to eat a mostly plant based diet with as little meat and dairy as possible. I will incorporate vegan alternatives for resource intensive and environmentally damaging foods like beef, dairy, pork, chicken and eggs.


I whipped up these Blueberry Cookies (gluten free, dairy free, organic) to snack on whilst we watch the Ken Ham/Bill Nye second debate which will be live streamed on AnswersinGenesis.org‘s youtube channel as well as Ken Ham’s Facebook page.

DSC_1550

  1. DSC_1552Cream together 8 tbsp melted coconut oil and 1 1/2 c sugar (I use coconut palm sugar and organic raw sugar)
  2. Stir in 1 egg and 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  3. Stir in 1 3/4 C flour (I use gluten free flour), 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 pinch Himalayan Pink Salt (salt bae style πŸ™‚ )
  4. Stir in 1-2 tbsp non-dairy milk (I used Macadamia milk)
  5. Fold in 1 c blueberries
  6. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Then scoop out dough, form into cookies and place on cookie sheet. Bake at 375F for 10-15 minutes or until done.
  7. Enjoy!

So again I ask “could Jesus have been vegan?”. The answer is no.

What do you think about the vegan lifestyle?

Selah, my friends.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is so interesting. I’ve not seen these references before and always thought the Book of Daniel promoted vegetarianism. Food for thought for sure! I love learning new things, and I’m especially interested in what God wants for us from a nutrition standpoint. I’ve always felt confused by this. Thank you for sharing your perspective!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m glad you got something out of it. I wasn’t aware of that verse either until my husband pointed it out. I still eat a predominantly plant based diet though, and almost all organic.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

